Delay circuit with the melody making sequencer!

It was suggested to me by Iowanchef to add a pt2399 circuit to this crazy little bend.

Ask and thou shalt receive!

I had a soldered up pt2399 delay circuit just laying around doing nothing so I threw it in parallel with the sequencer’s speaker. I ran an output off to my guitar amp. It worked perfectly. CHECK IT OUT!!!

The video is a little long but there is some really cool sounds toward the end.

Now that I think of it… why didn’t I turn on the drum machine? Oh well, next time.

Happy Bending!

12 thoughts on “Delay circuit with the melody making sequencer!

  1. NICE!! I swear man, I’ve got so much catching up to do.. I’m gonna bury you in videos! I’ve got the weekend “off” (out of town), so no building for me. I’m sure my brain will enjoy the rest.. Seriously man, NICE work.

    • Thanks dude! Delay makes every circuit bend… better.
      But, I can’t take all the credit. It was your idea!

  2. Really cool stuff!
    Could you tell me more about how you triggered the sounds from the 555?
    i fried one keyboard trying to get it to trigger and now I’m gun shy about frying the one I’m working on now.

    Did you use the schematic from the pt2399 data sheet for your delay?

    Your videos and blog have been very helpful and inspiring. Keep it Up!!

    Thanks
    Chris

    • Basicly,
      I hooked the output from the square wave and ran it through a few resistors and connected it to the button that played the melody sequence.

      The square wave was made so that it was high every few seconds (rather than every few milliseconds or whatever).

      When it changed from low to high (or the other way around i can’t remember) it would trigger the play button.

      The thing about the circuit was that you had to dial the timer in just right. If it went high before the melody looped all the way, it was like hitting stop. So, you would get the melody to start play for a while and then stop the stay off for the same amount of time that it was on… then start again. Does that make any sense?

      Every circuit it designed differently. The key to circuit bending is figuring out the limitations and the unique abilities of each and enhancing the good while ignoring or neutralizing the bad.

      Let me know if you have more questions.

      • Man, I have been banging my head against the wall trying to make a pt2399 delay.
        Did you use a pre printed circuit board or did you make one from scratch.
        Any help you could offer would be greaty appreciated.
        Maybe some pics?
        Would yo consider selling me a premade one, I have a bent keyboard that has been sitting around open just waiting for delay.

        Thanks
        Chris

      • Keep at it…

        You might also have a bad chip… it’s CMOS so you could have zapped it… Do you have others that you can sub in?

        In terms of making one for you, I don’t think it would be worth your money… I spent many hours wiring mine up and troubleshooting and all that. Each circut is almost like wiring up two of the same because of the breadboarding version 1 and then soldering version 2.

        Breadboard it first!!! then you can get to know the circuit. Then you can re-wire it up on perf board. And no I didn’t use a pre-printed circuit board. It would have been easier but my goal was always to teach myself electronics.

        Also, double check all the connections. trace the circuit… THE ENTIRE CIRCUIT. I know it seems like a waste of time but it’s always the solder joint that you were certain was a good one. Test, test, test. If the pt2399 chip is good… then it has to be a mistake. If that is the case, then the problem is one that you CAN solve.

        Did you use a voltage regulator? I don’t know from first hand experience but I have heard that the chip needs STEADY voltage. Supply it with a 9v that is regulated to 5V. That is what I have done every time I have wired one up. It works.

        Are you getting any sounds at all?

  3. No
    At first I was trying to use 3 double a batteries to bypass the voltage regulator but then found out that probably was one of my problems.

    I was trying to copy the getlofi delay from the build pics before I tried the datasheet schematic.

    this one………
    http://www.getlofi.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/pt2399-lofi-delay-11.pdf

    I just want an easy quick and small delay for some bent toys.
    The get lofi one would be perfect but he hasn’t put out the new boards yet.

    Have you ever seen the get lofi version?

    • well, I know you have had some trouble with your build… but I have to say… It really doesn’t get much easier than the pt2399 datasheet schematics. All the work is done by the IC. You just have to assemble it.

      Like I said, I set out to teach myself electronics. So, I want to know what the parts are doing and how to solder and how to troubleshoot a circuit. It’s why I like doing it. It’s like legos for big kids… only better!

      I’m telling you… keep trying… once you get one to work you will be SO FREAKING HAPPY… It’s the best thing in the world.

      Except skydiving.

      Good luck.

      p.s. do you have any of your work up on youtube or a blog… I would love to see what you have been up to.

    • I definitely used this one as reference when building mine. It’s always good to see when and where you can use different values of capacitors and resistors.

      Noisetoys is the best… I only wish he was still blogging about his work.

  4. can anyone help…we are building a delay circuit using the pt2399. We have one functioning circuit and we are trying to build an additional delay circuit and have it built exactly according to the data sheets schematic. we are positive the circuit is built according to specifications and the signal is passing through the circuit only we are not hearing the delay…anyone have any pointers

    • Is it possible that the chip is damaged? I would sub in another chip and see if that solves the problem.

      You may also have the wrong resistor value some place. It’s easy to do and will surely cause you problems.

      Good luck and thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

