PT2399 – Echo – Delay

So far, every time I test an audio circuit I have been running it through my guitar amp and pedal board. I have some effects pedals that make everything sound AMAZING. It doesn’t matter if it’s just obnoxious noise or beeps, bops, bleeps and boops or what. It all sounds great.

I have a Boss delay pedal and an Ibanez chorus pedal, wah pedal, distortion… amongst others.

The key is the delay pedal. No matter the input is, the delay pedal creates a rhythmic pulsing that is just heavenly.

So, I wanted to add an echo/delay effect to all the stuff I do from now on. It just seems like the right thing to do. I won’t always have a delay pedal and amp to process the sounds so, naturally, integrating one into the circuit is a must.

PT2399 Echo/Delay Audio Processor IC

Enter the PT2399. I found a delay IC that you can get for relativly cheap on Ebay (10 chips for $11 and free shipping from the seller “connectors_usa”  http://myworld.ebay.com/connectors_usa/).

Below is the datasheet and pinout info.  The PDF lists the application of the delay circuit which I have included a pic of.

PT2399 – Pinout and Datasheet

You can find the Datasheet and pinout information at…
http://www.ic-on-line.cn/iol_pt2399/pdfview/180639.htm.

PT2399 – Echo Application Circuit

You can find the entire PDF here…
http://kr.ic-on-line.cn/IOL/datasheet/pt2399_180639.pdf

I’m gonna order a batch and try and rig up a delay circuit. I will of course write about the process and let everyone know how it went.

6 thoughts on “PT2399 – Echo – Delay

    • Super good question… You must… I can’t really remember… It’s been a while since I mucked with the circuit…

      I found some supplementary information that might help out… It sounds like you might be able to just connect them..

      http://www.edaboard.com/thread49697.html

      http://www.hottconsultants.com/pdf_files/june2001pcd_mixedsignal.pdf

      I’m super sorry I don’t remember what I did… If I figure it out, I’ll post another reply.

      thanks for the question!

      • The explanations on these sites are not that easy to understand, as i’m not really an expert in this kind of stuff :p i’ll just buy the parts and try to make it. I think i just have to keep the agnd and the dgnd seperated, but solder them together at one point. I’ll try that.

      • Good question…

        I really don’t know enough about electronics to tell you the answer. If I were you, I would go to an electronics forum and ask the question. There are usually really smart people who can help you solve your problems… Unfortunatly, most common answer = check the datasheet.

        I just looked at the datasheet and I can’t tell if you can do -5. My guess is no… because you need a voltage regulator in the first place, but I could be way off… again, I just don’t know enough.

        If you figure it out, please, please, please let me know.

        Thanks so much for your question.

        Nick.

        p.s. here is the datasheet link:
        http://www.futurlec.com/Others/PT2399.shtml

  1. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could
    i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

Leave a Reply

